A Georgia State University freshman on the baseball team was immediately dismissed by his coach for DUI and other misdemeanor charges. The freshman is only 19 years old, so he also faces charges of underage possession of alcohol. Other charges he faced include driving without a license and driving the wrong way on a street. A $3,000 was posted for the player, which was paid. He was released from jail, but not released from the discipline of his coach. In a statement to the press, the coach said "He doesn't care about this team or this program. He's dismissed."
For this young man, an arrest was enough to get him released from the baseball team, but he has not yet been convicted of any crimes. If convicted on all counts, he could possibly even face jail time. Let's take a look at his charges.
Driving Under the Influence: This law is found in the Georgia Codes § 40-6-391. It is illegal to drive or be in actual physical control of a moving vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. First and second convictions are misdemeanors and could warrant a $300 to $1,000 fine.
Underage Possession of Alcohol: It is a misdemeanor offense for someone under the age of 21 to be found in possession of alcohol.
Driving Without a License: To operate a motor vehicle, the driver will need to possess a Georgia driver's license. Driving without a license is a misdemeanor offense and can result in additional license suspension.
Driving the Wrong Way: According to § 40-6-40 of the Georgia Codes, drivers must stay on the right side of the road with the exception of driving on a one-way street, when both the right and left sides of the road are moving in the same direction.
If you have been arrested for a drunk driving offense, please get in touch with Atlanta DUI Attorney Richard S. Lawson. This firm has the knowledge and experience you need to combat your charges.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment