Reckless Stunt Driving

(404) 816-4440

Reckless Stunt Driving in Georgia

At the Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson, our attorneys have over 50 combined years of experience defending Georgia drivers. When you or a loved one have been charged with a crime in Georgia, turn to our reckless stunt driving lawyers for assistance. We will immediately begin building a strong defense for your case and work to mitigate the penalties you will face. Contact us today for a free, no-obligation case evaluation.

Understanding Georgia's Reckless Stunt Driving Laws

Georgia's reckless stunt driving statute can be found under O.C.G.A. § 40-6-390.1. It states:

Any person who operates any vehicle while drag racing, in violation of Code Section 40-6-186, or laying drags, in violation of Code Section 40-6-251, in reckless disregard for the safety of persons on a highway or upon private property without express authorization from the owner of such property commits the offense of reckless stunt driving.

When considering this statute, it is important to note that there are 2 elements of reckless stunt driving:

  1. Operating a vehicle while drag racing or laying drag, and
  2. In reckless disregard for the safety of others

Our Reckless Stunt Driving Lawyers in Georgia understand that if the State can't prove you committed both of these elements, then you can't be convicted. They are skilled in creating gaps in the prosecution's case and obtaining a reduction or dismissal of the charges.

Consequences of a Reckless Stunt Driving Conviction in Georgia

If convicted of reckless stunt driving in Georgia, the penalties can be harsh.

1st Conviction: Misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature with fine between $300 and $750 and between 10 days and six months in jail.

2nd Conviction: Misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature with fine between $600 and $1,000 and jail time between 90 days and 12 months.

3rd Conviction: Deemed a habitual violator with a fine between $1,000 and $5,000 and between 120 days but not more than 12 months. You may also be subject to a license revocation and vehicle forfeiture which means that the State will seize your vehicle.

4th Conviction: Felony with a fine between $1,000 and $5,000 and one to fine years in prison along with license revocation and vehicle forfeiture.

Remember that these penalties only apply if you are convicted! Our Georgia Reckless Stunt Driving Lawyers know what it takes to achieve a great outcome in your case! We understand that fines, jail time, and even a license suspension can make everyday life difficult and we want to protect your rights, freedoms, and future.

Reckless Stunt Driving Defenses in Georgia

There are numerous defenses our Reckless Stunt Driving Attorneys in Georgia can use to defend your case. Some of them include:

Lack of Evidence: A failure to provide evidence demonstrating that you were engaged in drag racing or laying drags could lead to a dismissal of the charges. In addition, a lack of evidence that you were driving with a reckless disregard for others will also be  beneficial in achieving a reduction or dismissal of the charges.

Private property with permission from owner: If you were on private property and were engaged in reckless stunt driving, but you had permission form the owner, then you cannot be guilty of reckless stunt driving. Evidence of this authorization must be provided.

I wasn't driving: If law enforcement mixed up the drivers and you were charged but were not actually driving, our Georgia Reckless Stunt Driving Lawyers can help. The statute requires that the person be operating a vehicle. If you were not operating it, then you cannot have committed reckless stunt driving.

Contact Us Today

Many people make the mistake of thinking they have no defenses available to them if they have been charged with reckless stunt driving in Georgia. They forget a charge is not the same as a conviction! Even if an individual was engaged in reckless stunt driving, there are always defenses that our Georgia Reckless Stunt Driving Lawyers can raise in court. Furthermore, there are many creative ways we can reach an agreement with the prosecutor to avoid jail time or a license suspension. However, the more time you can give us, the better it is for your case! Call now and schedule a free case evaluation. 

You Only Have 30 Days To Save Your Drivers License

Our attorneys will pick up the phone at any time. Call our office now to avoid automatic suspension of your drivers license.

CALL US 24/7

Most Reviewed Law Office in Georgia

We invest 100% of our time, energy and passion into every case to achieve the best results possible.


Two Decades of Experience

Find out why choosing a team with experience can make all the difference in your DUI case.


We've Helped Nearly 5,000 People

Our team is committed to delivering our clients the results that they need after a DUI arrest.