Stop Sign Laws in Georgia
We get calls all the time from people who have been charged with some type of stop sign violation. People often say they paused at the stop sign but aren't sure if they came to a complete stop. If you have been charged with a stop sign violation or have questions about how long to stop, our Georgia Traffic Ticket Lawyers are here to help. Contact us today for a free case evaluation!
Georgia Stop Sign Laws
Under O.C.G.A. §40-6-72,
The driver of a vehicle approaching a stop sign shall stop at a clearly marked stop line or, if there is no stop line, before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection or, if there is no crosswalk, at the point nearest the intersecting roadway where the driver shall yield the right of way to any vehicle in the intersection or approaching on another roadway so closely as to constitute an immediate hazard during the time when such driver is moving across or within the intersection or junction of roadways.
How Long Do You Have to Stop at a Stop Sign in Georgia?
This is a frequently asked question and after reading the statute, unfortunately, it is silent as to how long you should stop. Some people say you must stop for 3 seconds but that is nowhere to be found in the statute. However, it can be determined that pausing does not constitute as stopping. Additionally, you must stop at the stop line or before entering the crosswalk. If you were behind another car and you stopped, you must stop again when you reach the stop line or crosswalk.
Our advice as stop sign attorneys in Georgia is to stop at every stop sign and give it enough time that a reasonable person would consider you stopped instead of paused. Because police officers often make the final judgment call, it is best to be cautious.
Penalty for Stop Sign Violation in Georgia
The most common punishment for failing to stop is points on your license and a fine. Failure to stop can result in three points being added to your license. While that may not seem like a lot, remember that if you receive 15 points in a 24-month period, your license will be suspended.
However, running a stop sign could be the underlying reason a person is stopped for a DUI. If so, the court could add 12 months of probation to a person's case because of the traffic violation. This is quite common in DUI cases. Therefore a person convicted of DUI and failing to stop at a stop sign could face the punishment of 12 months of probation for the DUI charge and another 12 months of probation for the stop sign violation.
Contact Our Georgia Stop Sign Lawyers Today
If you have been charged with failing to stop at a stop sign in Georgia, contact us today. Three points on your license can make your insurance go up or cause you to lose your license if you have already had other tickets. There are always options we can use to try and get the charge dismissed or negotiate it down to a basic rules violation, which would keep points off your license. Call us today.