Hardship License Plate

(404) 816-4440

Hardship License Plate for DUI Conviction in Georgia

If you have been convicted of DUI, you may have to surrender your license plate in Georgia. If convicted of a second or subsequent DUI within five years, it is required that the offender surrender the license plates of all vehicles registered in their name. We understand that having your license plate suspended is more than just an inconvenience. It can be detrimental to your family, your livelihood, education, and even your health. In some cases, Georgia drivers who had their license plate suspended may seek for a family member to receive a hardship license plate.  This would allow the family member to drive the vehicle even though the plate has been surrendered.

Surrendering a license plate not only affects the offender but also affects other household members that may drive the vehicle. In these situations, there is a special license plate that will allow a member of the household to drive the car even though the tag was surrendered.

The State of Georgia has specific requirements that you must meet in order to qualify for a hardship license plate. Your family members be must completely dependent upon the car for the necessities of life and be subjected to undue hardship without the issuance of a special license plate. Additionally, you must prove that your family member lives at the same address as you. The Department of Driver Services will check its driver's license records to determine whether the address is truly the same.

How to Get a Hardship License Plate

To apply for the plate, you need to file an Affidavit of Need for the Issuance of a Special License Plate after Multiple Convictions for Driving Under the Influence with the Department of Driver Services. The application will be denied if no member in the house has a valid driver's license. When applying for the hardship license plate, you must bring:

  • The completed form, approved by DDS.
  • Proof that you surrendered your tag.
  • Provide information about the person driving the vehicle. This includes name, date of birth, and driver's license number.
  • Proof of insurance

It may take up to 3 business days to hear back from the tag office. A committee will determine whether you qualify for this type of tag. If so, it will cost $20.00 for the tag.

An alternative option to proving hardship is transferring the title of the vehicle to the person you want to drive it. However, there cannot be a lien on the car, and it is impossible to switch the registration for a leased vehicle.

Contact a Georgia DUI Attorney Today If You Have Questions About a Hardship License Plate

If you were charged with your second or subsequent DUI in Georgia, you should contact a lawyer immediately. Surrendering your license is just one of the serious consequences you will face with a DUI. We will help you fight your case! We have over 50 combined years of experience and will use that experience to your benefit. Call now.

You Only Have 30 Days To Save Your Drivers License

Our attorneys will pick up the phone at any time. Call our office now to avoid automatic suspension of your drivers license.

CALL US 24/7

Most Reviewed Law Office in Georgia

We invest 100% of our time, energy and passion into every case to achieve the best results possible.


Two Decades of Experience

Find out why choosing a team with experience can make all the difference in your DUI case.


We've Helped Nearly 5,000 People

Our team is committed to delivering our clients the results that they need after a DUI arrest.