Headlight Laws in Georgia
While it may seem trivial to receive a ticket for a headlight violation, the headlight laws were developed to protect Georgia drivers. Driving with headlights helps keep you and the people around you safe. If you have received a ticket for a headlight violation in connection with a DUI or have any questions, contact our Georgia DUI Lawyers today.
Georgia Headlight Requirements
Georgia has two separate code sections concerning headlights. The first section, O.C.G.A. § 40-6-20, details when you are required to have your headlights on. Georgia requires headlights to be used in the following situations:
Georgia law requires headlights to be on in these circumstances:
- From 30 minutes after sunset to 30 minutes before sunrise
- Any time it is raining
- Any other time when there is not sufficient visibility to render clearly discernible persons for at least 500 feet. Types of weather conditions where you are unable to see 500 feet in front of you may include fog, snow, smoke, sleet, and heavy rain.
Please note that 30 minutes before or after sunset are times when we may think there is enough light but under Georgia law, you could still receive a ticket. In addition, the phrase when “there is not sufficient visibility to render clearly discernible persons” can be interpreted in different ways. Therefore, you may receive a ticket for violating this although you believe you could still see clearly. That is where our Georgia Headlight Lawyers can help. We understand that this is up to the subjective opinion of the officer and we will work diligently to fight that assumption.
While automatic headlights are a great tool for drivers, they can also lead to an O.C.G.A. §40-8-20 violation. The automatic headlights do not follow the law and may not turn on when it is required. For instance, many downtown or city areas have sufficient lighting. Therefore, your car may not turn on the headlights because it senses that there is enough light.
We frequently see people get a ticket for a headlight violation while using a rental car. Know that driving a rental car is not an excuse for not having your headlights on.
The other section regarding headlights can be found in O.C.G.A. § 40-8-22. It states that every motor vehicle must have at least two but no more than four headlights. Every motorcycle must have at least one and no more than two headlights. However, the most important part is that the headlights shall be maintained in proper working condition.
Driving without working headlights will be grounds for you to be pulled over and issued a ticket. Many people are pulled over for a headlight violation and end up being charged with much more. It could be DUI or another offense. Once pulled over, officers are allowed to charge you with other crimes if they have cause.
Penalty for Headlight Violation Conviction in Georgia
A convicted for a headlight offense in Georgia will result in fines and points being added to your license. Under O.C.G.A. §4-8-20, 3 points will be added to your license. While this may not seem like a big deal, remember that 15 points in a 24 month period will result in your driving privileges being revoked. However, if you are under 18 years of age, your driving privileges can be suspended if you accumulate 4 points over the course of 12 months.
Contact Our Georgia Headlight Lawyers Today
We understand that you do not want points to be added to your license for a headlight violation, therefore it is critical to hire a headlight attorney in Georgia. We have decades of traffic ticket experience and are equipped to settle your case outside of court or go to trial. We understand that sometimes you want to just pay the fine and be done, but it is in your best interest to at least have a Georgia Headlight Lawyer look at your case. If you have a clean driving record or the facts support it, your attorney could negotiate your ticket down to a basic rules violation which results in zero points being added to your license. Contact us today for a free case evaluation.