Trenton GA DUI Lawyer
If you've been arrested and charged with a DUI offense in Trenton or anywhere else in Dade County, it is important that you get into contact with an experienced and dedicated Trenton GA DUI Attorney. DUI crimes are serious offenses in this state, and being convicted can result in harsh prison sentences, large fines, and a permanent criminal record. In addition, you'll face the lifelong stigma of having a DUI on your record, the loss of your reputation in the community, and frequently the inability to obtain employment, housing, or financial aid to pursue an education. If you have prior offenses, you should also be aware of the potential for enhanced punishments. However, you do not have to face these consequences if you contact our DUI Lawyers in Trenton GA.
30 Day Warning
If you have been charged with DUI in Trenton GA, you only have 30 days to save your license from being suspended. You can either submit a request for an Administrative License Suspension (ALS) hearing or install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. No decision should be made without first consulting with an experienced lawyer. A failure to request a hearing or install the device within 30 days will result in a suspension of your Georgia driver's license.
Felony DUI Charges in Trenton GA
Most DUI charges are classified as misdemeanor offenses. However, there are certain situations where the DUI can be charged as a felony offense. Once convicted of a felony DUI in Georgia, it will stay on your record for the rest of your life. The punishment for a felony DUI extends beyond prison and hefty fines. People who have a felony on their criminal record generally lose the right to hold public offense, the right to vote, and lose the ability to own and possess firearms. It can also make it more difficult to obtain housing, credit, or employment.
A person will be charged with felony DUI in Georgia if they are convicted of a fourth DUI or subsequent DUI within 10 years. The penalty is a prison term between one and five years and a fine up to $5,000. Additional consequences include a minimum of 60 days of community service, a clinical evaluation, and DUI school.
It is important to note that a person convicted of a third or subsequent DUI within five years will be classified and declared a habitual violator. Habitual violator is a status and not a criminal offense in and of itself. However, there are penalties that accompany a habitual violator status. One such penalty is that a HV will have their license revoked for five years.
Whether this is your first, second, third, or fourth DUI, our Trenton GA DUI Lawyers can help. Do not make the mistake of thinking there are no options available to you if charged with felony DUI in Trenton GA. Whether you are a habitual violator or a first time DUI driver, our attorneys want to help with your case. There are always Georgia DUI defenses that we can use to support your case. However, time is of the essence with DUI cases. You only have 30 days to prevent the automatic suspension of your driver's license. Additionally, the more time you give us to collect evidence, the better.
Trenton GA Municipal Court
Trenton GA Municipal Court has jurisdiction over city ordinance violations, traffic violations, and other misdemeanors, including DUI and shoplifting, that occur within Trenton city limits. The Honorable Joel McCormick is the Municipal Court Judge. Court is held at 12882 N Main Street, Trenton, Georgia 30752, and you can call (706) 657- 4167 for more information.
Contact Our DUI Lawyers in Trenton GA Today
If you have been arrested on suspicion of DUI, do not hesitate to contact our Trenton GA DUI attorneys. DUI arrests are frightening because not only can they result in criminal convictions, but they can directly impact your daily life. You run the risk of losing your driver's license after a DUI arrest which can complicate your job situation and your family life. Do not live in fear of your future - contact our lawyers today.