Reckless Driving in Georgia
Reckless driving is considered a serious traffic violation in Georgia. It encompasses a wide range of activity including tailgating, cutting other drivers off, and driving at high speeds. If you have been charged with reckless driving, it is in your best interest to hire an experienced reckless driving lawyer in Georgia. Or if you have been charged with DUI and think trying to reduce your DUI charge to reckless driving is best, we can help with that. With over 50 combined years of experience, our team of Georgia DUI Lawyers know how to achieve great results in your case. Contact us today for a free case evaluation.
Reckless Driving Laws in Georgia
Georgia law O.C.G.A. § 40-6-350, reckless driving is defined as when any person drives any vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety or persons or property.
However, what constitutes reckless driving is not specifically defined. Since there is no set standard, it is determined on a case by case basis. Some situations where judges have found to be reckless driving include:
- Excessive speeding
- Failing to field at right of ways
- Passing other vehicles over a double yellow line
- Following too closely
- Driving too fast for weather or road conditions
- Using the shoulder lane to pass
Reckless Driving and DUI
As Georgia DUI Lawyers, one of the first questions people ask us is if we can get their DUI charge reduced to reckless driving. While we have had success getting prosecutors to agree to this, it is not the best solution in every case. It is critical that you speak with an experienced DUI Attorney in Georgia before trying to reduce your charge. However, in most cases, a reduction from the DUI to reckless driving is considered a big win. Even though reckless driving comes with its own penalties, a conviction for reckless driving will help you avoid having a DUI on your criminal record.
Penalty for Reckless Driving Conviction in Georgia
A reckless driving conviction will be treated as a misdemeanor. Misdemeanor charges in Georgia carry a fine up to $1,000, jail time up to 1 year, or both. It can also include community service, completion of a drug and alcohol valuation, or other conditions that a judge imposes. In addition, it will come with 4 points being added to your license. For drivers under 21 years of age, their license will be automatically suspended.
Contact Our Georgia Reckless Driving Lawyers Today
If you or a loved one has been charged with DUI or reckless driving, it is critical that you contact our office as soon as possible. A DUI conviction will have an impact on your future and a reduction to reckless driving could be in your best interest. Call our Georgia Reckless Driving Attorneys now to discuss how strategy to make this possible and protect your future. Call now.