Woodstock DUI Lawyer

(404) 816-4440

Woodstock DUI Lawyer

Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol is a serious crime in Georgia. If you are arrested and charged with DUI, you face potentially severe consequences in the form of jail time, hefty fines, community service, and license suspension. When facing these penalties, it is critical that you hire an experienced Woodstock DUI lawyer. We have exclusively practiced DUI law for over 25 years and have the skills your case requires to be successful. Call now for a free case evaluation.

Woodstock First DUI Consequences

Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs is no small infraction in Georgia. A first conviction will result in a substantial fine, possible license suspension, and a jail sentence. The first conviction is considered a misdemeanor. The maximum penalty is a $1,000 fine and up to one year in jail. Additional consequences include community service, completion of a drug and alcohol program, and attendance of a MADD victim panel.  Greater penalties will apply if an accident was involved or other serious injuries to another person.

Many people make the mistake of thinking a misdemeanor conviction will not have a significant impact on their future, and they plead guilty. Pleading guilty to DUI will have major consequences. The driver can expect their insurance premiums to skyrocket. They may find it difficult to obtain employment and may face losing their current job. If they have a CDL license or are licensed in another way, they may have that license revoked.

First DUI penalties can have a lasting impact on your life if convicted. That is why it is critical to hire an experienced DUI Attorney in Woodstock to protect your rights, freedom, and future. Remember, a charge is not the same as a conviction! There are numerous penalties available to you that your Woodstock DUI Lawyer can use to defend your case. 

Underage DUI in Woodstock

For drivers over 21 years of age, it is illegal to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or .08% of more within three hours of driving. However, for drivers under 21 years, that threshold is much lower. Drivers under 21 years will be considered DUI if their BAC is .02% or more within three hours of driving. This low limit demonstrates Georgia's strict approach to underage DUIs. Because the limit is so low, we have found that young people can be charged with DUI without actually being under the influence. They may have blown over .02%, but their driving may not have been impaired. Under Georgia law though, they are still guilty of a DUI.

Furthermore, underage drivers who refuse chemical testing can still be charged with a DUI; it will be charged as DUI less safe if an officer deemed that it was less safe for to drive due to being impaired.

For a first DUI underage conviction, it is considered a misdemeanor with a penalty of up to one year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. However, you could also be facing a license suspension, community service, probation, and drug use risk and reduction course.

Our Woodstock DUI Lawyers Know How to Help

Fortunately, there are a number of ways an experienced Woodstock DUI Attorney can help reduce the consequences you may be facing. In some cases, we may be able to have the case dismissed; the charges be reduced to a lesser crime; or negotiate a reduced sentence. We use a variety of ways to accomplish this including, pre-trial negotiations, trials, filing motions based on lack of evidence, and extensive review of your case.

Woodstock Municipal Court

Woodstock Muncipal Court handles misdemeanor criminal, traffic, and city ordinance cases. The Court can be reached at 770.592-6030, and is located at 12453 Highway 92, Woodstock, GA 30188.

Contact Our Woodstock DUI Attorneys Today

When you or a loved one have been arrested for DUI anywhere in Woodstock, it is imperative that you hire a DUI Lawyer in Woodstock. DUI charges can have life-altering consequences, even for a first conviction. Many people make the mistake of thinking prosecutors will let them off easy for a first offense, but that could not be further from the truth. Contact our office now to make sure your rights, freedom, and future are protected.

You Only Have 30 Days To Save Your Drivers License

Our attorneys will pick up the phone at any time. Call our office now to avoid automatic suspension of your drivers license.

CALL US 24/7

Most Reviewed Law Office in Georgia

We invest 100% of our time, energy and passion into every case to achieve the best results possible.


Two Decades of Experience

Find out why choosing a team with experience can make all the difference in your DUI case.


We've Helped Nearly 5,000 People

Our team is committed to delivering our clients the results that they need after a DUI arrest.