Canon DUI Lawyer
If you or a loved one has been charged with DUI in Canon or anywhere else in Franklin County, contact us today. Our founder, Richard Lawson, served as a former North Georgia prosecutor before forming his own law firm dedicated to defending those charged with DUI. With over 25 years of experience, our DUI Attorneys in Canon represent Georgia's premier DUI defense firm. Contact us today for a free case evaluation!
DUI 30-Day Warning!
If you are arrested for DUI in Canon, you only have thirty days from the date of your arrest to save your driver's license. You must have a Canon DUI Attorney file a request for a hearing or install an ignition interlock device before the 30 days are up! Unless this hearing is requested, you will lose your Georgia driving license potentially up to 12 months.
The 30 Day Letter
The State of Georgia expects drivers to abide by certain rules and regulations when they issue a person their driver's license. Remember, your ability to drive in Georgia is a privilege, not a right, and can be taken from someone who violates State DUI laws. A license suspension for DUI will be automatic if a hearing is not requested in a timely manner.
The officer that arrests you for DUI actually has two cases against you: a criminal court case as well as an DDS case. To save your driver's license, you must file a request for a hearing within thirty days or else your license will be automatically suspended. The State of Georgia requires a $150 fee to set the ALS hearing. Let an experienced Canon DUI Lawyer protect your ability to drive in Georgia.
If a hearing is not requested before the 30-day deadline, an automatic license suspension will occur. If you refused testing of breath, blood, or urine, you will experience an automatic suspension of one year, with no chance of getting a restricted license or permit. If you did submit to testing during your DUI investigation, you could only have a 30-day license suspension. You could be eligible for a limited permit or restricted license that would let you drive to and from work or school. A second license suspension, however, could mean a license suspension much longer than 30 days.
Many people do not understand that this hearing is completely separate from the DUI process that will proceed in Court. Our experienced Canon DUI Lawyers will deal with the stress of the ALS hearing for you by appearing in court on your behalf. There is no need for you to miss work or arrange childcare.
Let Our DUI Attorneys in Canon Help
Despite the grim and depressing picture painted above, the likelihood of you avoiding a DUI conviction is pretty good with the help of our Canon DUI Attorneys. However, the most beneficial thing you can do is contact us from the very beginning. Just like any criminal case, fast action and early intervention helps preserve evidence that could be used on your behalf and potentially mitigate some of the efforts the prosecutor is using to gather evidence to convict you.
Canon Municipal Court
Canon Municipal Court has jurisdiction over city ordinance violations, traffic offenses, and other misdemeanors, including DUI and shoplifting, that occur within Canon city limits. Court is held on the third Monday of each month at 5071 Highway 17, Canon, GA 30520. For more information, call 706-245-8155.
How Our DUI Lawyers in Canon Can Help You
When you have charged with DUI, there is no time to waste. A DUI charge is not the same as a DUI conviction and there are many steps in between! Our Canon DUI Lawyers know how to navigate the DUI process and protect your rights, freedom, and future! Our office is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to take your call. Contact us today!