Fannin County DUI Lawyer
In Georgia, if you are operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater, you are above the legal limit. It is a common misconception that a first-offense DUI is no big deal, but nothing could be further from the truth. Georgia laws are tough on DUI. Even first-time offenders face up to one year in jail, fines up to $1,000, and a license suspension.
The Fannin County DUI Lawyers at The Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson have been protecting the rights of individuals charged with DUI in Georgia for more than 25 years.
We have successfully defended countless clients in DUI cases, and we want to help you. Contact us today for a free and confidential consultation about your case.
Fannin County DUI Arrest
If you have just been arrested for drunk driving, you need to act quickly in order to protect your rights! By having your arrest details analyzed by our skilled DUI Lawyers in Fannin County, we will investigate all of the details of your arrest to find possible advantages or any mistakes that may work in your favor to win your case. Then, we will discuss your options with you in fighting to beat your Fannin County DUI case.
The law is that the prosecution must prove your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. They will use the arresting officer's police report and any results from field sobriety tests, blood tests, urine test, or the breathalyzer against you in court. However, our Fannin County DUI Attorneys know how to effectively challenge these arguments. We understand that breathalyzers are often unreliable because they are not maintained properly. We understand that field sobriety tests do not always indicate you were driving impaired and there were contributing factors. We also know that police officers make mistakes and we know how to make that mistake work in your favor. There are procedures that must be followed by the police before, during, and after your arrest. Officers must also strictly follow certain measures and requirements when test results are being used as evidence. Any mistakes made can give us the advantage when we go to court!
Our Fannin County DUI Lawyers understand that you are probably worried about what will happen to your car, your driver's license, your job, and the status of your permanent criminal record. These are all normal feelings. First, you only have 30 days from the date of your arrest to successfully fight to keep your drivers license at your administrative license hearing, or your license can be automatically suspended. This is separate from the criminal hearing and action must be taken quickly.
Since the possibilities of finding errors or mistakes are based upon everyone's individual, unique arrest details – you need to act quickly after your DUI arrest. It is easy to forget details after time has passed so make sure to write down everything you remember after the arrest. Even the smallest things like the weather and what you were wearing can make a difference.
The best option you have in fighting to beat your Fannin County case is by finding out the gaps in the prosecutions argument's by getting your case evaluated as soon as possible after a DUI arrest.
Fannin County Superior Court
Fannin County Superior Court has jurisdiction over all felony DUI cases. Fannin County is a part of the Appalachian Circuit along with Gilmer County and Pickens County. There are three judges that sit on the circuit. The Court is located at 400 West Main Street, Blue Ridge, GA 30513. For more information, call 706-632-2039.
Fannin County Probate Court
If you were arrested for DUI in an incorporated part of Fannin County, your case will proceed in Fannin County Probate Court. The Honorable Chief Judge R. Scott Kiker presides over the Court. The Court is located at 400 West Main Street, Suite 200, Blue Ridge, GA 30513. For more information, call 706-632-3011.
Blue Ridge Municipal Court
Blue Ridge Municipal Court handles traffic violations, city ordinance violations, and other misdemeanors, including DUI and shoplifting, that occur within Blue Ridge city limits. Court is held on the second Monday of each month at Blue Ridge city hall located at 480 West First Street, Blue Ridge, GA 30513. For more information, contact the Clerk of Court at 706-632-2091.
McCaysville Municipal Court
If you have been arrested for DUI in McCaysville, your case will proceed in McCaysville Municipal Court. Court is held on the third Thursday of each month at McCaysville City Hall located at 233 Blue Ridge, Drive, McCaysville, GA 30555. For more information, you can call 706-492-4921.
Contact Our DUI Attorneys in Fannin County Today
Whether you are fighting to beat a DUI in Fannin County for a first-time DUI arrest, second offense, or felony DUI, your time is extremely critical in finding courses of action to take based upon what occurred during your arrest and how to challenge any and all evidence collected. Contact our lawyers now for a free case evaluation and get starting protecting your rights!