Driving Without Insurance or Proof of Insurance in Georgia
In Georgia, all drivers must have proof of insurance and Georgia law requires that the owner or operator of a motor vehicle have adequate minimum coverage. (O.C.G.A. § 40-6-10). Even if you are not the owner of the vehicle, you can still be charged with driving without insurance if the vehicle is not insured. If you or a loved one has been charged with driving without insurance or without proof of insurance in Georgia, contact our Georgia Defense Attorneys today. We have been defending DUI and other traffic charges for more than 25 years and know how to negotiate a dismissal or reduction of your charges. Call us now for a free case evaluation.
Georgia Insurance Requirements
Under Georgia law every driver must, at the very least, carry liability insurance. This insurance must provide at least $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury to two or more people, and $25,000 per accident for property damage. Furthermore, you must carry an insurance card in your vehicle at all times.
Driving Without Proof of Insurance in Georgia
Under O.C.G.A. § 40-6-10, if a person has insurance but is unable to provide proof to the police officer, they can be charged with no proof of insurance. The maximum fine is $25.00. If you had insurance at the time of the ticket but did not have the proof with you, it is critical that you bring the insurance card or binder that was in effect the date of the charge to court. Most courts will simply dismiss the ticket if you had insurance at the time. Even if you have to pay the ticket, it will not be reported to the Department of Driver Services or your insurance company.
Driving Without Insurance in Georgia
Driving without insurance is considered a misdemeanor charge in Georgia. This means that if you are convicted of driving without insurance, you will subject to a fine between $200.00 and $1,000.00, up to 12 months in jail, or both. In addition, you will lose your license for at least 60 days up to 90 days.
We frequently see people charged with this that simply forgot to renew their insurance. A lapse in insurance coverage will result in your insurance company sending a notice of the lapse to the State of Georgia. This can lead to a person having their license suspended. Once stopped for a ticket, they can be charged with driving without insurance and driving with a suspended license. Driving on a suspended license has severe consequences!
Contact Our Office Today
If you have been charged with driving without insurance or driving on a suspended license because your insurance lapsed, contact our Georgia Lawyers today. This is a serious charge that can have a drastic impact on your future so do not take it lightly. Contact us today for a free case evaluation.