If you have been arrested for driving under the influence for the first time, you may not fully understand the need for experienced legal advice and representation of an Atlanta DUI Lawyer. Time is limited. It is vital that you take action against a conviction - even you first conviction is subject to harsh penalties. Additionally, the DUI process is filled with legal technicalities. If you are unfamiliar with court proceedings, you may become bogged down in the meticulous details of the case.
After the arrest, you have only thirty days to request an ALS hearing (Administrative License Suspension hearing). Otherwise, you will automatically have a suspended license in addition to a conviction on your criminal record. Your best hope for avoiding these consequences is to hire an attorney with the experience to fight skillfully and aggressively in your defense. We urge you to contact an Atlanta DUI lawyer from The Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson today.
Penalties for First DUI in Atlanta, GA
For every DUI arrest, there are both administrative (civil) and criminal penalties that you could face upon conviction. The administrative penalties will be dealt with by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) and the criminal penalties can be found in the Official Code of Georgia Annotated (OCGA). The penalties for a first time driving under the influence offense are less severe than subsequent offenses, provided that the first-time DUI did not involve any other aggravated circumstances such as the injury or death of another individual. Listed below are the various penalties for first-time DUI in Atlanta, Georgia:
- 1 st DUI (Over 21): 120-day license suspension, $210.00 fine and DUI school. A limited driving permit will be made available if the driver qualifies.
- 1 st DUI (Under 21): If the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was under .08 percent, then the suspension period shall be 6 months, fines total $210.00 and DUI school is required. If the BAC was more than .08 percent then the suspension period shall be 12 months.
Offenses related to driving under the influence of alcohol or other controlled substances are listed out in full in the OCGA 40-6-391.
- First Conviction: Fine minimum of $300.00 and maximum $1,000.00, ten days to 12 months imprisonment, minimum 40 hours of community service and successful completion of DUI school.
- First Conviction Without 12-Month Imprisonment: Mandatory probation period of 12 months excepting those days in which the individual was incarcerated.
There are many possible defenses against a first-time DUI. The law is tougher on individuals who have prior arrests and DUI offenses on their record, placing you in a favorable position if this is the first time you have been arrested for driving under the influence. Our Atlanta DUI lawyers have a number of successful defenses that our firm frequently uses for its clients. First of all, we could challenge the validity of the DUI stop. Unlawful police stops make all the evidence procured thereafter invalid. We can also challenge the validity of the breath or blood test results, as these machines can often produce inaccurate results. These defenses, combined with our aggressive representation, have aided our firm in successfully resolving more than 4,900 DUI cases.
Call DUI Defense Lawyer Richard S. Lawson!
As a former DUI prosecutor, attorney Richard S. Lawson has understands the ins and outs of DUI accusations and will advise you accordingly. If there are additional charges, such as a refusal or alleged refusal of chemical testing or underage DUI, you want a lawyer with the legal experience to help you stay out of jail and avoid other penalties such as fines and license suspension. Don't waste any time. The sooner we hear about your case the faster we can begin helping you avoid a conviction. To learn more, please contact an Atlanta DUI lawyer from the firm today!