Commerce DUI Attorney
If you or a loved one has been charged with DUI in Commerce, you need to call us immediately. DUI charges are severe, especially if you are underage. The courts rarely reduce the penalties because of your age and instead, they are enhanced. Our DUI Lawyers in Commerce GA have over 50 combined years of experience. We are waiting to take your call!
Underage DUI in Commerce
For drivers over 21 years of age, it is illegal to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or .08% of more within three hours of driving. However, for drivers under 21 years, that threshold is much lower. Drivers under 21 years will be considered DUI if their BAC is .02% or more within three hours of driving. This low limit demonstrates Georgia's strict approach to underage DUIs. Because the limit is so low, we have found that young people can be charged with DUI without actually being under the influence. They may have blown over .02%, but their driving may not have been impaired. Under Georgia law though, they are still guilty of violating DUI laws in Georgia.
Furthermore, underage drivers who refuse chemical testing can still be charged with a DUI; it will be charged as DUI less safe if an officer deemed that it was less safe for to drive due to being impaired.
Penalties for Underage DUI in Commerce
For a first DUI underage conviction, it is considered a misdemeanor with a penalty of up to one year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. However, you could also be facing a license suspension, community service, probation, and drug use risk and reduction course.
Call Us Now If You Have Been Charged with Underage DUI
If charged with underage DUI in Comerce, the key is not to give up! There are defenses that our DUI Lawyers in Commerce can use for your case. We do not want this mistake to affect the rest of your life. We will try to show the prosecutor that you deserve an alternative punishment. However, if they do not agree, we have decades of experience taking cases to trial.
Commerce GA Municipal Court
For a DUI charge in Commerce, Georgia, your case will be heard in Commerce Municipal Court. Judge Billy Chandler will be the presiding judge, and court is held on the first Tuesday of every month at the Commerce Civic Center at 110 State Street, Commerce, GA 30529. The Clerk of Court is Cindy Kilgore. The phone number for Commerce Municipal Court is 706-335-3200.
Contact a DUI Attorney in Commerce Today
There is no situation that is beyond our help! With decades of experience, our Commerce DUI Lawyers know how to get a favorable outcome in your case. Don't waste any time in calling us today.