Pine Mountain GA DUI Lawyer
The Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson are dedicated to defending people charged with DUI throughout Georgia. With decades of experience coupled with an extensive knowledge of DUI law, we are able to achieve excellent results for our clients. Call now and see how our team of DUI Attorneys in Pine Mountain GA can assist with your case.
Pine Mountain DUI Less Safe
O.C.G.A. § 40-6-391 defines varying DUI charges in Georgia. There are several factors that must be proven in order to be guilty of DUI.
O.C.G.A. § 40-6-391(a)(1) states that a person shall not “drive or be in actual physical control of any moving vehicle while under the influence of alcohol to the extent that it is less safe for the person to drive.” This is known as DUI less safe. DUI less safe is complicated because it does not mean that the officer actually saw the person drive the vehicle. It also does not mean that the person committed a “less safe” act while driving. Instead, an officer can use his observations to support a finding of DUI less safe. Officers look for clues such as the admission of drinking, slurred speech, bloodshot eyes, fumbling, repeating questions or comments, the odor of alcohol on the person's breath, and providing incorrect or inconsistent answers.
O.C.G.A. § 40-6-391(a)(2) prohibits driving “under the influence of any drug to the extent that it is less safe for the person to drive.” Any amount of a contraband substance in your system constitutes DUI drugs, however, the State must also prove that the drug rendered you incapable of driving safely. If charged with driving under the influence of a prescription drug, having a prescription for the drug is not a defense to this charge. If the levels of the prescription drug in your system were within “therapeutic” levels, it can be argued that you were not actually “under the influence” of the drug.
The maximum penalty for a typical first DUI misdemeanor is 12 months in jail and a $1,000.00 fine plus court surcharges. The minimum penalty for a first DUI conviction within a 10 year period is 24 hours in jail, which may still be waived as time served, and a $300.00 fine. Other mandatory requirements are 40 hours community service, a DUI Risk Reduction course, and 12 months probation less any time served in jail, which may be supervised or potentially non-reporting and may allow for random drug and alcohol screening. An Alcohol and Drug Evaluation may be required, but can be waived by the judge at his or her discretion.
If you have been charged with DUI less safe for alcohol or drugs, our Pine Mountain GA DUI Lawyers can help. Each charges requires a different approach and that is why it is vital that you hire a DUI attorney that practices DUI defense everyday. General practitioners sometimes miss the nuances of DUI law and are not able to get you the best results. To ensure you receive the very best representation, contact our DUI Attorneys in Pine Mountain Ga.
Have You Been Charged With DUI on a Trip to Callaway Gardens?
Many people travel to Callaway Gardens each year to enjoy the beautiful scenery, but never plan for a DUI arrest. We have represented many clients who were charged with DUI while visiting Callaway Gardens. If arrested while visiting, your case will proceed in either Pine Mountain Municipal Court, Harris County Probate Court, or Harris County Superior Court depending on the specific circumstances of your case. No matter where your case begins, our Pine Mountain GA DUI Lawyers can assist in building a strong defense for your case. We understand the stress that accompanies a DUI arrest and are here to walk you through the process. Contact us now.
Pine Mountain GA Municipal Court
If you were arrested for DUI within Pine Mountain city limits, your case would proceed in Pine Mountain Municipal Court. Court is held on the first Tuesday and the fourth Monday of each month starting at 5:00 p.m. John Gilson is the Judge of the Municipal Court. Court is held at 250 N. McDougald Avenue, Pine Mountain, GA 31822. For more information, call 706.663.2213.
Contact Us Now
Our Pine Mountain GA DUI Lawyers are here to give you the best representation for your case. We care about your rights and your future and want to make sure both are protected. We are dedicated to you and keep our office open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to ensure we meet your needs.