Hoganvsville DUI Lawyer
If you or a loved one has been charged with DUI in Hogansville or anywhere else in Troup County, it is critical that you hire an experience DUI lawyer. Georgia DUI penalties are harsh and the impact of a DUI can follow you for years. As Georgia's premier DUI defense firm, we understand the consequences you are facing and are here to assist in any way we can. Please do not make the mistake of thinking there are no options available to you. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.
Penalties for a First DUI Conviction in Hogansville
If you have been arrested for DUI in Hogansville and have no prior record, you face serious penalties which can cause significant disruptions in your life. Georgia law enforcement officials are cracking down to make sure anyone caught receives sufficient punishment to prevent subsequent DUIs. A first time Georgia DUI offender can face a minimum of 24 hours in jail and a maximum of 12 months in jail. However, most of the time a judge will allow a first time DUI offender to complete their jail sentence on probation. While this seems ideal, probation comes with a lot of conditions and responsibilities. Probation can also be costly with the monthly supervision fees.
Common punishments for a first DUI in Georgia can include:'
- 12 months of probation
- Alcohol and Drug counseling
- 40 hours of community service
- Fines between $300-$1,000
- 1-10 days in jail
- License suspension
- DUI School
Remember, these are punishments only if you are convicted. There are lots of DUI defenses our Hogansville DUI lawyers can use to defend your case. No matter the particulars of your case, there are many potential defenses to your DUI charge.
Penalties for a Felony DUI Charge in Hogansville
Most DUI charges are classified as misdemeanor offenses. However, there are certain situations where the DUI can be charged as a felony offense. Once convicted of a felony DUI in Georgia, it will stay on your record for the rest of your life. The punishment for a felony DUI extends beyond prison and hefty fines. People who have a felony on their criminal record generally lose the right to hold public offense, the right to vote, and lose the ability to own and possess firearms. It can also make it more difficult to obtain housing, credit, or employment.
A person will be charged with felony DUI in Georgia if they are convicted of a fourth DUI or subsequent DUI within 10 years. The penalty is a prison term between one and five years and a fine up to $5,000. Additional consequences include a minimum of 60 days of community service, a clinical evaluation, and DUI school.
It is important to note that a person convicted of a third or subsequent DUI within five years will be classified and declared a habitual violator. Habitual violator is a status and not a criminal offense in and of itself. However, there are penalties that accompany a habitual violator status. One such penalty is that a HV will have their license revoked for five years.
Whether this is your first, second, third, or fourth DUI, our Hogansville DUI Lawyers can help. Do not make the mistake of thinking there are no options available to you if charged with felony DUI in Hogansville. Whether you are a habitual violator or a first time DUI driver, our attorneys want to help with your case. There are always arguments that we can use to support your case. However, time is of the essence with DUI cases. You only have 30 days to prevent the automatic suspension of your driver's license. Additionally, the more time you give us to collect evidence, the better.
Hogansville Municipal Court
If you have been charged with DUI in Hogansville city limits, your case will proceed to Hogansville Municipal Court. The Court is located at 117 Lincoln Street, Hogansville, GA 30230. Ms. Michelle Toth is the Court Clerk, and she can be reached at 706.637.8316.
Contact Us Today
As you can see, DUI penalties are intense. However, our DUI Attorneys in Hogansville are here to protect your rights, freedom, and future. Call us now for a free case evaluation.