Hiram DUI Attorney
DUI laws in the State of Georgia involve a wide range of complex rules that require the knowledge of an experienced Hiram DUI Lawyer. If you or a loved one has been charged with DUI, our DUI Attorneys in Hiram are here to help with your case. We will walk you through the entire process and discuss the best approach. We have honed our skills as DUI defense attorneys over the past 25 years and are skilled in successfully defending those charged with DUI.
First DUI Charges in Hiram
Our Hiram DUI Lawyers have been exclusively handling DUI cases for over 25 years. We understand that this may be your very first encounter with the law. You may be an upstanding citizen with a spotless record and find yourself being arrested for DUI. Or this may be your 3rd DUI charge. No matter if this applies to you or you are in a completely different situation, we can help! However, securing a favorable result in your case is not as easy as it seems, even for a first DUI charge. Due to strong public pressure, prosecutors and judges are often hesitant to extend leniency to alleged offenders without a strong advocate on their side. As experienced DUI Lawyers in Hiram, we can step in and work to clear your name of drunk driving charges. We understand the consequences you are facing and want to protect your rights, freedom, and future. Our Hiram DUI lawyers at The Law Office of Richard S. Lawson have the expertise and insight to handle the toughest DUI cases and receive favorable outcomes for clients, time, and time again.
Penalties for First DUI Charges
One of the first questions we get asked by clients is what punishments could they be facing. While every case is unique and the final sentence depends on multiple factors, there are some common punishments that are used in DUI cases.
A first offense for DUI in Hiram can result in the following penalties:
- 1-10 days in jail
- 40 hours of community service
- Fines between $300 and $1,000
- 12 months of probation
- License suspension
- Alcohol and drug counseling
- Mandatory treatment
- DUI school
Additionally, in Georgia, there is a 10-year look-back period. This means that if you are arrested or accused of DUI again within 10 years, you could face increased penalties for a second offense. However, if you are charged outside of the 10 year period, it will be considered your first offense again.
Furthermore, if there are aggravating factors involved, such as an accident that resulted in injuries or death, you will likely face more severe consequences. That is just one of the reasons why it is vital for you to retain a trusted Hiram DUI Lawyer during this time.
Hiram Municipal Court
Hiram Municipal Court handles traffic violations, city ordinance violations, and other misdemeanor charges that occur within the city limits of Hiram, including DUI. Hiram Municipal Court is held 3 times per month in the Municipal Annex located behind the Dewey Pendley Municipal Complex, 219 Main St., Hiram, GA 30141. The phone number is 770-943-3087, ext 2012.
If you are facing DUI charges in Hiram or anywhere else in Paulding County, don't just hire a defense attorney; talk to our Hiram DUI Attorneys. Our firm will protect your rights and prioritize your best interests during the legal process. We are here 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to answer your questions. We believe that you should have an answer to your question no matter what time of day or night it is. Call now for a free case evaluation.