Mount Zion DUI Attorney
In Georgia, all drivers must have at least the minimum auto insurance coverage on their vehicles. A failure to have appropriate coverage can result in the driver being charged with no proof of insurance. Two different statutes coincide with driving without insurance in Georgia. No matter which law you have been charged under, our Mount Zion DUI Lawyers are here to help.
What Happens if You Drive Without Insurance in Georgia?
A person can be charged under is O.C.G.A. 40-6-10, which states it is illegal to drive a motor vehicle without adequate insurance on the vehicle. It does not matter whether the driver owns the car or not. The vehicle must have, at the minimum, the state required insurance on it. A person convicted under O.C.G.A. §40-6-10 will be charged with a misdemeanor. In Georgia, misdemeanor convictions come with a penalty of up to 12 months in jail, a fine between $200 and $1,000, or both. It is also a crime to make a false statement concerning insurance coverage. For example, if a driver told the officer there was insurance on the vehicle knowing there was none. This violation will also be treated as a misdemeanor.
What Happens if You Drive Without Your Proof of Insurance in Georgia?
Even if a person does have valid insurance on the vehicle, the driver could be charged if they do not have proof of insurance. However, the punishment for this is much less severe. It includes a $25.
Additional Consequences for Driving Without Insurance in Georgia
In addition to the criminal penalties, a person that was in an accident with no insurance may face a civil lawsuit. The driver's home and savings could be subject to forfeiture. Furthermore, the driver will likely have their license suspended if they are unable to pay for the damages to the other person's vehicle.
Insurance Lapses in Georgia
Another penalty that many people are unaware of is that insurance companies report lapses of insurance to the State of Georgia. This notice can lead to a suspension of your Georgia driver's license. Insurance companies generally give a 30-day grace period. However, if you fail to reinstate your insurance within the 30-day period, then you will have to take steps to reinstate your license. This includes paying a $25 fee for the lapse in the coverage and a $60 reinstatement fee.
Steps to Avoid Getting Charged With No Insurance in Georgia
To ensure this does not happen to you, our Mount Zion DUI Lawyers recommend the following:
- Stay up to date on your insurance information. Make sure you make your insurance payments on time and that there is never a lapse in coverage.
- Make sure all of your vehicles are covered by your policy. If you get a new vehicle, you must add it to your policy as soon as possible.
- Put all of your insurance information in your car in an easily accessible place. You need to be able to find your insurance information if pulled over by a police officer.
- Be polite to the officer. If you know you have car insurance but can't find your card for some reason, being respectful to the officer may convince him not to write you a ticket. He may just give you a warning instead.
Mount Zion Municipal Court
Mount Zion Municipal Court has jurisdiction over misdemeanor charges, including DUI that arise within Mount Zion city limits. Timothy A. McCreary is the Municipal Court Judge, and April Fordham is the Clerk of Court. Court is held at 4455 Mount Zion Road, Mount Zion, GA 30117. Please call (770) 832-1622 for more information.
Contact Our DUI Attorneys in Mount Zion Today
Call our Mount Zion DUI Lawyers now if you have been arrested for DUI. Our offices are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to assist you. Call now for a free case evaluation.