Metro Athens-Clarke County Lawyer
Whether your arrest happened in Athens, Winterville, or Watkinsville, our DUI Lawyers in Metro Athens-Clarke County are here to help. With over 50 combined years of experience and thousands of clients represented, we understand what it takes to achieve a successful outcome in your case. We are intimately familiar with Georgia DUI laws and know how to make the law work for you! Call us today for a free case evaluation and discover how our Metro Athens-Clarke County Attorneys can make all the difference in your case!
First DUI Penalties
If you have been arrested for DUI in Metro Athens-Clarke County and have no prior record, you could still face serious penalties which can cause significant disruptions in your life. Georgia law enforcement officials are cracking down to make sure anyone caught receives sufficient punishment to prevent subsequent DUIs. A first time Georgia DUI offender can face a minimum of 24 hours in jail and a maximum of 12 months in jail. However, most of the time a judge will allow a first time DUI offender to complete their jail sentence on probation. While this seems ideal, probation comes with a lot of conditions and responsibilities. Probation can also be costly with the monthly supervision fees.
Common punishments for a first DUI in Georgia can include:
- 12 months of probation
- Alcohol and Drug counseling
- 40 hours of community service
- Fines between $300-$1,000
- 1-10 days in jail
- License suspension
- DUI School
Remember, these are punishments only if you are convicted. There are lots of defenses our Metro Athens-Clarke County DUI lawyers can use to defend your case.
Underage DUI Charge in Metro Athens-Clarke County
For drivers over 21 years of age, it is illegal to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or .08% of more within three hours of driving. However, for drivers under 21 years, that threshold is much lower. Drivers under 21 years will be considered DUI if their BAC is .02% or more within three hours of driving. This low limit demonstrates Georgia's strict approach to underage DUIs. Because the limit is so low, we have found that young people can be charged with DUI without actually being under the influence. They may have blown over .02%, but their driving may not have been impaired. However Georgia law, they are still guilty of violating DUI laws in Georgia.
Furthermore, underage drivers who refuse chemical testing can still be charged with a DUI. It will be charged as DUI less safe if an officer deemed that it was less safe to drive due to being impaired.
For a first DUI underage conviction, it is considered a misdemeanor with a penalty of up to one year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. However, you could also be facing a license suspension, community service, probation, and drug use risk and reduction course.
If you have been arrested for DUI in Metro Athens-Clarke County or anywhere else in the state, you only have thirty days from the date of your arrest to file an Administrative License Suspension (ALS) hearing request or a request for an ignition interlock device. The filing fee is $150 and is separate from any attorney's fees. If you fail to request an ALS hearing or the interlock device, your Georgia driver's license will automatically be suspended. If you refused (or have falsely been accused of refusing) the State's chemical test of your breath, blood, or urine, your license will be suspended for one year with no chance for a restricted permit.
Areas We Serve in Metro Athens-Clarke County
The court system in Athens-Clarke county is unique in that it is a combined city and county government. If you are arrested for DUI within Athens city limits or in an unincorporated part of the county, your case will proceed in Athens-Clarke County Municipal Court. If you request a jury trial, your case will be bound over to Athens-Clarke County State Court. No matter where your case originated, our Metro Athens-Clarke County Lawyers know how to get you the results you desire!
if you have been charged with DUI in Elbert County, it is critical that you act quickly and hire experienced representation to assist with your case. Penalties for a DUI conviction are severe and will have a serious impact on your life. Call our Elbert County DUI Lawyers today for assistance with your case.
When you or a loved one find yourself charged with DUI or a related offense, contact our DUI Attorneys in Greene County Georgia today. Our team of DUI lawyers have a wealth of knowledge and experience ready to put to work for you. For over 25 years, our team has been defending people charged with DUI and know how to make the law work for you. Contact us today for a free case evaluation.
At the Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson, our firm possesses the experience and skill you need to reach a favorable outcome in your DUI case. Our team has over 50 combined years of practice in DUI defense and we will help you determine what the best options for your case are. We defend clients charged with DUI, possession of marijuana, child endangerment, serious injury by vehicle, probation violation, and other DUI related charges. Contact us today.
If you want the best outcome possible for your case in Madison County GA, it is critical that you contact our DUI Attorneys in Madison County GA today. Our team is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week because we believe that you should not have to wait until regular business hours for your questions to be answered. That is just one of the many ways we are dedicated to our clients. We promise to provide expert advice when you need it most. Call us now.
Don't waste time if you have been charged with DUI in Morgan County, Georgia. Our DUI Attorneys in Morgan County are waiting to take your case and start building a robust defense for your case. With over 50 combined years of experience, we understand what it takes to get a win for your case and are prepared to help. Contact us today.
If you are charged with a DUI in Oconee County, your case could proceed in Oconee County Superior Court, Oconee County Probate Court, or Watkinsville Municipal Court depending on the circumstances. Our DUI Attorneys in Metro Athens-Clarke County have been handling DUI cases in Oconee County for decades. We know the prosecutors, judges, and court staff and have built great relationships with them. Trust us with your case because your future depends on it!
Oglethorpe County DUI Lawyer
Richard Lawson and his team of DUI Attorneys in Oglethorpe County are available each and every day to help you. With over 25 years of experience and thousands of clients represented, we understand Georgia DUI law inside and out. Don't trust your case with a general practitioner who occasionally handles DUI cases. A DUI conviction has the potential to have a huge impact on your future and it is in your best interest to hire a Metro Athens Clarke County Lawyer that practices DUI law on a daily basis.
Contact Our DUI Attorneys in Metro Athens Clarke County Today
If you have been arrested for a DUI in Metro Athens Clarke County, you need to investigate what your options are for ways to avoid the severe punishments associated with a DUI. We encourage people to contact an attorney as soon as possible after an arrest. Never plead guilty to a DUI charge before you have your case examined by a skilled DUI lawyer. Our experienced Athens-Clarke County DUI Lawyers frequently find issues with arrest procedures and use them to your advantage! Call now for a free case evaluation.