Pike County DUI Lawyer
If you have been charged with DUI in Pike County, you need to see representation immediately. A DUI conviction has the potential to upend your career, family, and future. However, it doesn't have to! A charge is not the same as a conviction, and our DUI Attorneys in Pike County have over 25 years of experience helping clients avoid the harsh penalties. Call now for a free case evaluation.
Pike County DUI Defense
Being charged with driving under the influence of alcohol is a serious charge in Georgia. There's no room to laugh it off or wait for the problem to go away. Georgia penalties are harsh even for first-time offenders. The moment you're charged with DUI, it's already time to start fighting back to preserve your freedom.
It might be your first DUI offense, and it might be your first offense ever. You might even feel that you were guilty or that you don't stand a chance against the police officer's word. Unfortunately, thinking about your DUI case that way could lead to serious consequences that affect you for years. Speak with a Pike County DUI lawyer now for help getting your charges dropped or reduced. You've been put in a serious situation, but all you have to do to get legal help is call our firm. We have been exclusively handling DUI cases for over 25 years and know what it takes to achieve a favorable outcome in your case. We have built relationships with judges, prosecutors, and court staff that help us to work out the best agreements for our clients. Furthermore, we pride ourselves on knowing Georgia's DUI law inside and out. So instead of the law working against you, we know how to make it work for you!
Pike County DUI Penalties
Even if it's your first offense, the penalties for DUIs in Pike County are serious. For a first offense, if you choose not to fight back and get your charges reduced or dropped, you'll be facing a fine up to $1,000 plus court costs, and the additional conditions of your sentence will cost substantially more. A first DUI conviction could also result in jail time, probation, community service, alcohol and drug treatment, and more.
Because your charges are driving-related, a conviction can affect your license and vehicle. If you are charged with a DUI, a common punishment is to have your license suspended. That means you'll need to find alternate transportation, such as public transportation or family and friends. But there are ways to keep your license fully intact or at least get a hardship license so you can drive for business purposes. Many people are unaware that you must take action within 30 days of your arrest or your license will be automatically suspended! Our Pike County DUI Lawyers are intimately familiar with Georgia DUI laws and will help protect your license as well as defend you against the criminal punishments.
Georgia also has an ignition interlock requirement for certain DUI offenses. That means your vehicle may be fitted with a sobriety testing device. You'll need to blow into the device for your vehicle to start. This can be expensive and embarrassing.
Long Term DUI Consequences in Georgia
Unfortunately, the consequences for an intoxicated driving offense don't end after you've paid your fines and served any required time in jail. While a misdemeanor might not seem as serious as a felony, it can still haunt you throughout your life in Georgia.
For example, your insurance will likely be affected. You can expect an increase in your insurance premiums—even if you didn't cause an accident. That means more expenses over time, and that can add up to thousands over the years.
In addition, a DUI conviction can affect your family and housing situation. Many apartments, banks, and employers require background checks for applicants, and a DUI conviction could show up there. If you have children, a felony charge can affect whether you receive custody in a divorce.
Don't underestimate the effects of a drunk driving conviction. Fortunately, you can get help from a DUI attorney in Pike County GA to get those charges dropped or reduced and protect your future. Our lawyers at the Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson know how to build a solid defense to protect your future!
Pike County Superior Court
Pike County Superior Court has exclusive jurisdiction over all felony DUI cases. Furthermore, if you request a jury trial in Probate or Municipal Court, your case will be bound over to Superior Court. Pike County is part of the Griffin Judicial Circuit along with Fayette, Spalding, and Upson County. Ms. Pam Thompson is the Clerk of Pike County Superior Court and can be reached at 770-567-2000. The Court is located at 16001 Barnesville Street, Zebulon, GA 30295.
Pike County Probate Court
Pike County Probate Court handles DUI charges that occur in unincorporated parts of the County. The Honorable Judge Ginny Blakeney presides over the Court. The Court is located at 16001 Barnesville Street, Zebulon, GA 30295. For more information, call 770-567-8734.
Concord GA Municipal Court
If you were arrested for DUI within Concord GA city limits, your case will proceed in Concord Municipal Court. Concord GA Municipal Court is located at 50 Main Street, Concord, GA 30201. The Honorable David Fowler is the presiding judge, and Sharon Casey is the Clerk of Court. Call (770) 884-5221 for more information.
Zebulon GA Municipal Court
Zebulon Municipal Court has jurisdiction over city ordinance violations, traffic offenses, and other misdemeanors, including DUI and shoplifting, that occur within Zebulon GA city limits. Zebulon Municipal Court is held at 7818 Highway 19 South, Zebulon, GA 30295. The Honorable Robert Morton is the presiding judge, and Tabitha Crowley is the Chief Clerk. Please call (770) 567-8441 for more information.
Contact Our Pike County GA DUI Lawyers
When you or a loved one has been charged with DUI, there is no time to waste. It is critical to hire an experienced DUI Attorney in Pike County GA to ensure your rights, future, and freedom are protected. Call now for a free case evaluation.