Hapeville DUI Lawyer
In Georgia, drivers who are impaired by alcohol, drugs, or a combination can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI). There are two different ways you can be charged: DUI per se and DUI less safe. A first DUI offense in Georgia is a misdemeanor charge. However, this does not mean that the consequences are minor. The minimum penalties for a first DUI in Hapeville can lead to jail time and a suspension of your driver's license. If you or a loved one has been charged with DUI, you need to contact one of our DUI Lawyers in Hapeville today.
Penalty for DUI in Hapeville
The penalties of a DUI conviction can be life-altering. You are facing the possibility of losing your license and your freedom. Some of the penalties for DUI convictions are provided below. However, we want you to understand that you do not have to just accept these consequences! There are also defenses we can use to argue your case. A charge is not the same as a conviction.
A person charged with their first DUI in Hapeville will face the following potential penalties if convicted:
- 12 months probation
- Minimum fine of $300 plus court costs and surcharges
- Between 1-10 days in jail
- At least 40 hours of community service
- Drug and alcohol abuse counseling
- Completion of a DUI Risk Reduction School
- Driver's license suspension
A second DUI conviction comes with the following consequences:
- Fine between $600-$1,000, plus court costs and surcharges
- Between 12-36 months of probation
- At least 90 days in jail but no more than 12 months.
- 240 hours of community service (30 days)
- DUI school
- Suspension of driver's license
- Installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, after a “hard license suspension” for 120 days
- Substance abuse counseling
- Publication of photo in the county in which DUI occurred
A person convicted of a third DUI in Hapeville faces the following potential penalties:
- 12-36 months of probation
- $1000-$5000 in fines, plus court costs and surcharges
- 120 days to 12 months in jail
- 30 days of community service
- DUI school
- Five years of driver's license suspension
- Mandatory drug and alcohol treatment
- Habitual violator status
If a person is convicted of a fourth DUI in Georgia, it will be treated as a felony conviction. The penalties increase to between 1-5 years in prison, fines between $1000 - $5000, and 10 years of driver's license suspension. The accused will also have to complete 60 days of community school and attend DUI school.
The penalties for being charged with a DUI are significant. However, remember that a charge is not the same as a conviction. You are innocent until proven guilty and should not just plead guilty to a DUI, believing you have no other options. Your case can be defended! We have represented thousands of clients and have been successful in getting cases reduced to reckless driving charges or lower sentences. We will work with you to discover what your goals are and develop a plan to meet those goals. Some clients value keeping their license above everything else. Other clients are professionals that do not want a DUI going on their criminal record. No matter your situation, our Hapeville DUI Lawyers will do their best to meet your needs. Do not worry about the possible DUI penalties. We can help.
Hapeville Municipal Court
Hapeville Municipal Court is located at the Hapeville Police Department at 700 Doug Davis Drive, Hapeville, GA 30354. The Honorable Monica Ewing is the Chief Judge, and Monique Cook is the Clerk of Court. For more information about Hapeville Municipal Court, call (404) 669-2149.
Contact Us Today
If you or a loved one has been charged with DUI or a related offense, contact our office today. Our Hapeville DUI Lawyers are ready to take your call and begin working on your case. Our office is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Call now.