According to Georgia laws, it is illegal for any person to operate “any moving vehicle” while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Last week, a Georgia man was charged with DUI and a drunk in public offense. Police arrived at the scene after being notified that a SUV hit the man's Rascal 300 scooter. The man told officers that he had taken Valium, a medication designed to fight against anxiety, and had consumed a pint of alcohol. After completing a breath test, the results showed that he was intoxicated while operating his electric wheelchair.
Other Unconventional DUI Charges
It may come as a surprise to learn that the man pulled over for driving his wheel chair under the influence actually broke the law, but he did. Because Georgia laws state “any moving vehicle,” a person can also be arrested for a DUI charge if they are caught operating the following:
- Riding Lawn Mowers
- Horses, Donkeys, Mules
- Animal-Drawn Wagons
- Electric Scooters
The Penalties for a First-Offense DUI
No matter what kind of vehicle you are caught operating while under the influence, if you are convicted of a first-offense DUI charge, you can face serious penalties such as the following:
- Jail sentence ranging from 24 hours to 1 year
- Fines ranging from $300 to $1,000
- License suspension up to 1 year
A person who has been arrested for DUI can not only face expensive fines and penalties, but these types of charges can also complicate other life matters such as the following.
- Renting a home
- Applying for school
- Securing a job
- Earning scholarships
Have You Been Arrested for DUI in Georgia? The Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson Can Help
If you have been accused of operating any vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs, it is important that you contact experienced legal representation as soon as possible. At The Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson, our Atlanta DUI defense lawyers can provide you with aggressive representation to help you obtain positive results. As former DUI prosecutors, we understand what it takes to have your charges and penalties reduced or dismissed and can do everything in our power to protect your rights and freedom,
You only have 10 days to save you driver's license. Call our Atlanta DUI attorneys without delay!
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment