Atlanta, Ga. - According to reports out of Southwest Atlanta, a young child is still in recovery after being a victim of a hit and run.
The seven-year-old was riding on the back of a moped. As the driver of the moped approached an intersection, a van hit the moped while it was making a left turn. The collision resulted in both the man and the child being thrown into the street. They both suffered lacerations and abrasions. The child has a very serious head injury as a result.
As an Atlanta DUI Lawyer, I will focus on the offense of hit and run - according to police, the van driver left the scene. Read below.
Hit and Run
Georgia law outlines certain requirements when a person gets into a wreck or any type of automobile accident in Georgia. These requirements and responsibilities are laid out in O.C.G.A. §40-6-270. The law states:
The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or the death of any person or in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of the accident or shall stop as close thereto as possible and forthwith return to the scene of the accident and shall:
(1) Give his or her name and address and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving;
(2) Upon request and if it is available, exhibit his or her operator's license to the person struck or the driver or occupant of or person attending any vehicle collided with;
(3) Render to any person injured in such accident reasonable assistance, including the transporting, or the making of arrangements for the transporting, of such person to a physician, surgeon, or hospital for medical or surgical treatment if it is apparent that such treatment is necessary or if such transporting is requested by the injured person; and
(4) Where a person injured in such accident is unconscious, appears deceased, or is otherwise unable to communicate, make every reasonable effort to ensure that emergency medical services and local law enforcement are contacted for the purpose of reporting the accident and making a request for assistance.
The driver shall in every event remain at the scene of the accident until fulfilling the requirements of this subsection. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.
Hit and run can be classified as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the results of the accident. If such accident is the proximate cause of death or a serious injury, any person knowingly failing to stop and comply with the requirements shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than one nor more than five years. If such accident is the proximate cause of an injury other than a serious injury or if such accident resulted in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person, any person knowingly failing to stop or comply with the requirements of this Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined not less than $300.00 nor more than $1,000.00, which fine shall not be subject to suspension, stay, or probation, or imprisoned for up to 12 months, or both.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for a DUI in Atlanta or a hit and run or any other DUI-related offense, call our offices today. We can help you now.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment